Texting and Opt Out Status

Texting and Opt Out Status

When determining whether or not to opt contacts into receiving text messages, there are many ethical and legal questions to consider. Please refer to these resources for more information:

How Contacts Can Opt Out of Receiving Text Messages

After contacts are opted in, there are two ways that they can be opted out of receiving texts from Cadence:

Automatic opt out

Contacts can opt out by replying to a text sent from Cadence with one of these trigger words: STOP, STOPALL, UNSUBSCRIBE, CANCEL, END, or QUIT. The contact will receive one final automated message confirming that the opt out has occurred. 
The contact will be opted-out of receiving texts from anyone in that team. Additionally, if that user/phone number exists in another team, the contact will be opted-out of receiving texts from that person. 
Note: The trigger word can be any capitalization, however, the text message must only contain the word itself. 

User-initiated opt out

Within Cadence, any user can go into the contact's conversation view (or Contacts > Search) and click OPT-OUT
The contact will be opted-out of receiving texts from anyone in that team.

A few words to keep in mind when texting contacts

Contacts will also be prompted with an automated message from their carrier about how to Opt Out should they use one of these carrier trigger words, "HELP" and "INFO". If contacts reply with either of these two words, the carrier will intercept the message and prompt them with an automatic response letting them know how to Opt Out.

To avoid contacts accidentally opting themselves out of messages or having their messages intercepted by the carrier, learn more about what words to avoid when texting.


Opting Contacts Back In

Contacts can be opted back into receiving text messages, and the process varies depending on how the contact initially opted out.

If the contact opted out via automatic opt out

The contact can text the word START, YES, or UNSTOP (just the word; any capitalization is accepted) to the virtual number he/she initially opted out of. This opts the contact back into receiving text messages within the team and the user can begin texting the contact once again.

Note: The contact will receive the following confirmation message: “You have successfully been re-subscribed to messages from this number. Reply HELP for help. Reply STOP to unsubscribe. Msg&Data Rates May Apply.”

If the contact opted out via user-initiated opt out

A user can go into the contact's conversation view and click the toggle next to “OPTED-OUT” to opt the contact back in.

Note: If the contact opted out via user-initiated opt out, the contact can also be opted back in by an Admin via import if the “OptedOut” column value is set to “no”, “false”, "n", or "0".


Notifications

Mongoose offers a built-in notification process to help you manage opt out status changes. Based on your institution’s opt out notification settings (configured by Admin users under " Team Name" > Notifications), the platform can send an email to a specific person or multiple people each time a contact's opt out status changes. 

Note: If your institution manually imports contact data into Cadence, please update your information system when opt out changes occur to ensure that accurate information is imported. If your institution utilizes the API connection, notifications can be enabled via webhook so opt out status is automatically updated on the contact's record.


Avoid Carrier Trigger Words

When sending messages to contacts, there are some words you'll want to avoid prompting contacts to reply to your text messages with. There are words that carriers have identified as trigger words that can result in contacts "Opting Out" or being flagged by the carrier.  "These words are  "STOP", "CANCEL", "END", "QUIT", "UNSUBSCRIBE", "HELP" and "INFO". 

"STOP", "CANCEL", "END", "QUIT", "UNSUBSCRIBE" are carrier "Opt Out" words, meaning, contacts will be opted out of receiving messages automatically if they send any of these words (the word by itself) in a message. So to avoid an accidental opt out, avoid asking contacts to reply using one of these words. 

"HELP" and "INFO" are words that the carriers will intercept and prompt contacts with an auto reply letting them know how to opt out of messages. These two words are flagged and looked at by carriers as messages that are questionable. If a contact replies with "HELP" or "INFO", you will not see the reply.

Examples:

What you should say-"Hello <FIRST NAME>, this is Ashley at MU. We saw you started your application but haven't finished. Do you have any questions about your application?"

Avoid messages like this- "Hello <FIRST NAME>, this is Ashley at MU. We saw you started your application but haven't finished. If you need help or have questions, reply HELP"


Additional Notes

  • Cadence stores opt out information on a team-by-team basis.
  • There is not a way to automatically opt a contact out across all users and all teams. The easiest way would be to find the contact in each team and opt the contact out.
  • If your institution imports a contact for the first time and does not include the OptedOut column, Cadence will automatically opt the contact in.
  • Unless you include the OptedOut column in your imports, the opt-out status of an existing contact in Cadence will be preserved and will only change if an automatic or user-initiated opt-out occurs in the platform.
  • A contact who has automatically opted-out cannot be changed back to opted-in via import; that contact would need to text one of the accepted trigger words in order to opt back in.
  • Opt-out rates are consistently under 5% across the board. Phone numbers may opt-out for reasons other than not wanting to receive texts (e.g., wrong number, no longer planning to attend/attending the institution, etc.).
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.